Office of the President


Welcome from Neil Matkin, Ed.D.




About Dr. Matkin

Dr. H Neil Matkin

In collaboration with the district’s Board of Trustees, Dr. Neil Matkin has executed a comprehensive vision to take Collin College to the next level of achievement through a strategic plan focused on student engagement and success, fundraising and fiscal management, and dramatically expanding the accessibility of higher education consistent with the mission, purpose, and Core Values of the college. During his tenure, he has championed a spirit of innovation now embedded throughout the district, significantly increased the diversity of the college’s employees, executed the implementation of the college’s first baccalaureate degrees, and strengthened the college’s connections to the community. In addition, under his leadership, the college created the iCollin virtual campus, opened an IT Center at the Frisco Campus, built the Public Safety Training Center, and opened campuses in Allen, Celina, Farmersville, and Wylie.

Dr. Matkin has previously served as executive vice president of the Louisiana Community & Technical College System where he was executive vice president over 16 colleges. Before that, Dr. Matkin was president of the Central Campus of San Jacinto College in Pasadena, Texas; vice chancellor and chief information officer for the Virginia Community College System; and chief administrative officer for the Illinois Century Network.

Dr. Matkin holds Associate of Arts, Bachelor of Arts, Master of Science, and Master of Business Administration degrees. He earned his Doctor of Education degree from Texas A&M University-Commerce.



President’s Perspective

President Matkin regularly communicates to stakeholders in the community. View a variety of Publications to learn more.

  Trees against building on Frisco campus


Past Presidents  Collin College has served the community for more than three decades. Strong presidential leadership has shaped the college since its founding in 1985 and led to the incredibly impactful educational opportunities that have made Collin College a national leader in higher education.

Dr. John Anthony & Dr. Cary Israel

Dr. John Anthony was the founding president of Collin College and one of the college’s first five employees in 1985. Under his leadership, campuses were built in Frisco, Plano, and McKinney.

Known for his open-door policy and keen sense of humor, Dr. Anthony established a list of 22 postulates which communicated a philosophy that guided the college for many years. Before coming to Collin College, he served as president of Portland Community College, Cayuga Community College, and Los Angeles City College.

Dr. Anthony holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Education, Accounting from Susquehanna University and a Master of Business Education, Psychology from Temple University. He earned his Doctor of Education in Business Education, Psychology from Temple University. 


Dr. Cary Israel began his presidency at Collin College in 1999. An ardent advocate for the college, he established Collin College as a recognized leader in health sciences education. Passionate about providing students with scholarly opportunities and a rigorous education, Dr. Israel spearheaded the creation of the college’s majestic libraries at the Plano, Frisco, and McKinney campuses. Under his leadership, the college built the Collin Higher Education Center, a unique multi-institutional higher education facility for area students.

Before coming to Collin College, Dr. Israel served as president of Raritan Valley Community College in New Jersey, executive director/president of the Illinois Community College Board, and president of Front Range Community College in Colorado.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree with highest honors from Michigan State University and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Detroit Mercy Law School.


Executive Leadership

The Executive Leadership Team consists of the President's Cabinet, Campus Provosts and other college leaders. It meets monthly and serves in an advisory role to the District President.



Dr. Neil Matkin, District President
Dr. Bill King, Executive Vice President
Melissa Irby, Chief Financial Officer

Dr. Jay Corwin, Senior Vice President, Student and Community Engagement
Dr. Abe Johnson, Senior Vice President, Campus Operations

Kristy Horkman, Executive Assistant to the District President

Mary McClure, Associate Vice President of Business and Governmental Relations

Ali Subhani, Director, Internal Audit
Monica Velazquez, J.D., General Counsel

Leadership Team

Dr. Jennifer DuPlessis,  Chief Human Resources Officer

Dr. Diana Hopes, Campus Provost, Frisco Campus and Celina Campus
Dr. Brenden Mesch, Campus Provost, Technical Campus & Courtyard Center
Dr. Sarah Lee, Campus Provost, iCollin Virtual Campus
Dr. Mary McRae, Campus Provost, Wylie & Farmersville Campuses
Dr. Mark Smith, Campus Provost, McKinney Campus and Public Safety Training Center


Contact Information

Office of the President
Dr. Neil Matkin
District President

Elected Officials Inquiries
Mary McClure

Associate Vice President, Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships Elections Officer

Media Inquiries
Marisela Cadena-Smith
Associate Vice President, Communications
Other Inquiries
Kristy Horkman
Executive Assistant to the District President